Professor Wins Research Award

Professor Wins Research Award

Faculty of Pharmaceutical Sciences
Share Story Related Content Add to my report

Microbiologist Robert E.W. Hancock received the Prix Galien 2012 Research Award, widely considered the most prestigious honour in Canadian pharmaceutical research and innovation. Hancock is being recognized for his pioneering work unravelling the complex interactions between antibiotics and bacteria. His work has resulted in new therapeutic approaches to infectious diseases such as malaria, in response to the growing challenge of antibiotic resistance.

Related Content

Robert Hancock Credit: Martin Dee

Associated Commitment

Research Excellence

Associated Campus

Vancouver Campus


RT @campusubc: Work in a #UBC lab? Shut the Sash competition runs Nov 9 - Dec 21 in Pharm Sciences Bldg, Michael Smith Labs (including NCE)…
3 days ago.
Last year over 6,500 students received donor support to be at UBC. Without you, who knows who might be missing from…
3 days ago.
RT @loubosshartubc: .@ubcpharmacy Prof. Karla Williams is seeing positive results in her research on treating metastatic breast cancer Can…
4 days ago.
RT @AdamR_UBC: @CHEOSNews @ldlynd @CORE_UBC @ubcpharmacy @ERSpublications @UBCmedicine @PHCResearch @HLIStPauls @VCHResearch A few more by…
4 days ago.
RT @ScienceVancity: Professor Karla Williams at @ubcpharmacy studies invadopodia, structures in cancer cells associated with metastatic #Br…
4 days ago.
RT @ubcnews: UBC expert immobilizes tiny structures linked to metastatic breast cancer via @ubcnews @ubcpharmacy @S…
5 days ago.
RT @UBCGradSchool: Join us Nov 18 from 5-7PM for a screening of two UBC graduate student short films! All proceeds benefit @UBCUnitedWay. R…
6 days ago.
RT @CHEOSNews: November is #LungCancerAwarenessMonth! This year, CHÉOS Scientist @ldlynd (@CORE_UBC, @ubcpharmacy) et al. looked into ICS u…
7 days ago.
A tremendous congratulations to Dr. Shyh-Dar Li who was promoted to the rank of Professor (tenured) and Dr. Mohsen…
1 Nov, 19
RT @UBC_PDCE: Enhance your #MentalHealth Literacy in the classroom with our two free, online, self-paced courses developed in partnership w…
30 Oct, 19

Achieved Milestone

Award Received